From the ’30s up until the ’70s, the old scholars of C.B.C. played for Christian Brothers O.C., commonly known as C.B.O.C. (pronounced ‘Seebok’). During this period and particularly in the later years, C.B.O.C. also catered for students from Rostrevor College and Sacred Heart College.

Then in 1974 the name was changed to Rostrevor O.C., presumably reflecting the dominance of players coming from Rostrevor College. However, in the centenary year of C.B.C. school, 1978, the old scholars club was reformed under the guidance of Danny Farrugia & Mick Tomney this time under the name of CBC Old Collegians. The new club was nicknamed “The Brothers”.

The club constitution sets out that the club was established “To promote and encourage the playing of the game known as Australian Rules Football and any other games of manly sport by Old Scholars of Christian Brothers College of Wakefield Street Adelaide in the State of South Australia”

The club entered two teams in Division A5 of the SA Amateur Football League during its first season (1978) and commenced using the Bartels Road oval as it’s home ground and wearing the famous purple & white vertical striped guernsey. Both the oval and the guernsey are still in use today. The club finished 5th in it’s first season and reached the Grand Final in it’s second (1979).

In 1986 the then A Grade coach, Mark Travers, suggested a change of image to bolster the club and the official nickname was changed from “The Brothers” to “The Dolphins” reflecting the school crest.


1984 – A10 (C Grade)
1987 – A5R (B Grade)
1990 – A5 (A Grade)
1993 – A11 (C Grade)
2004 – Div. 5 (A Grade)
2012 – C4 (C Grade)
2014 – Div. 5R (B Grade)

League Medallists

Till Morelli – 1984 (Division A10)

Mark Bryson – 1998 (Division 10 South)

Cail Harris – 2015 (Division 5)

Phil Remphrey – 2015 (Division 5R)



Most Games – Greg Cain, 332 games
Most Goals – Michael Kieboom, 546 goals in 113 games
Best & Fairest – Paul Vance, 6 times A Grade Best & Fairest

Club Coaches

1978-82 – Rod Graham
1983 – Errol Hanna/Paul Quinn
1984-88 – Mark Travers
1989-93 – Aldo Floreani
1994 – Brian Clarke
1995-97 – Simon Trenorden
1998-00 – Rocky Butterworth
2001 – Craig Watts
2002-08 – Rocky Butterworth
2009-12 – Darren Jarman
2013 – current: Aldo Floreani

The club still maintains its strong ties to the school with many ex-students (and teachers) playing for the club and upholding the schools name.